Department of Mathematics

University of Mississippi
  • SandraSpiroffScienceCafe2015
    UM Math Professor Sandra Spiroff gives a wide audience talk on "Unique Factorization and a Roll of the Dice" at Oxford Science Café, an initiative to share scientific topics with Oxford's community.
    Prof. Brian Conrey, Executive Director of the American Institute of Mathematics, delivers the 2015 Dalrymple Lecture.
    Math Ph.D. student Janet Nakarmi (right) is the recipient of a Graduate Student Achievement Award from the College of Liberal Arts. Janet's work in Statistics is supervised by Prof. Hailin Sang (left).
    Siblings Emily and Michael Zhang won the 1st Place (team competition) of the High School Math Tournament organized on October, 2014, by faculty members Sasa Kocic and Samuel Lisi. Emily also got the 1st Place in the individual modality.
    Math major Eleanor Anthony delivers a Pi Mu Epsilon talk about her research on text recognition.
    Prof. Tom Alberts, from the University of Utah, delivers an Analysis Seminar talk on random spectral measures and circular Beta ensembles.
    Prof. Andrei Martinez-Finkelshtein, from the University of Almeria, Spain, gives a colloquium talk on "random matrix models, non-intersecting random paths, and the Riemann-Hilbert analysis".
    UM Math graduate Samuel Watson (currently a Ph.D. candidate at M.I.T.), delivers a talk in our Graduate Student Seminar.
    Prof. Brian Conrey, Executive Director of the American Institute of Mathematics, will deliver the 2015 Dalrymple Lecture in Mathematics, on April 9th, at 6:30 PM, Overby Center Auditorium. The abstract of his talk can be read here. Prof. Conrey is also a Professor of Mathematics at the University of Bristol, England, and a recipient of the 2008 Levi L. Conant Prize from the American Mathematical Society for his outstanding expository paper "The Riemann Hypothesis".
    Mathematics Ph.D. student Janet Nakarmi is the recipient of a Graduate Student Achievement Award from the College of Liberal Arts. She is one of only two recipients chosen from the departments of Biology, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Mathematics, and Physics and Astronomy.
    Prof. Erwin Mina-Diaz is an invited speaker at the Workshop on Orthogonal and Multiple Orthogonal Polynomials at CMO, Oaxaca, Mexico, August 9-14, 2015.
    Recent Mathematics Ph.D. graduate Caroline Turnage-Butterbaugh has accepted a three-year position as a William W. Elliott Research Assistant Professor in the Department of Mathematics at Duke University.
    Prof. Micah Milinovich is an invited speaker at the International Conference on Number Theory and Physics at IMPA in Rio de Janerio, Brazil from June 15-June 26, 2015. The conference poster can be found here.
    On Saturday, October 11th, 2014, the University of Mississippi hosted its 10th annual math competition for high school students. 48 students took part in the competition, representing a total of 9 high schools! It was great to see so much dedication and hard work on display.
    The Fourth Abel Conference: A Celebration of Yakov G. Sinai, will be held soon on Oct. 31 - Nov. 2, 2014.
    Two mathematicians, Jacob Lurie (algebraic geometry) and Yitang Zhang (number theory), have been named 2014 MacArthur fellows. Recipients are chosen from a wide variety of disciplines including writing, the arts, the sciences and social sciences, the humanities, and entrepreneurship, and must demonstrate exceptional creativity and promise for important future advances. Details about the fellowship can be found here and a complete list of the 2014 MacArthur fellows can be found here
    Ole Miss math professor Sandra Spiroff is one of the official visiting scholars at the University of Utah
    Maryam Mirzakhani (dynamics/geometry), a professor of mathematics at Stanford University, became the first woman to win the Fields Medal, the most prestigious prize in mathematics. The 2014 Fields Medal was also awarded to Artur Avila (dynamical systems), Manjul Bhargava (number theory), and Martin Hairer (stochastic PDEs). Quanta Magazine brings nice pieces about these mathematicians and their work. Terrence Tao briefly describes part of their research here
    Our Graduate Student Chapter is featured on the American Mathematical Society website
    Prof. Micah Milinovich has been awarded a second consecutive NSA Young Investigator Grant (2015-2017)
    Samuel Lisi and Hehui Wu join the department as new assistant professors
    Jeremy Clark, Maksym Derevyagin, and Ulises Fidalgo join the department as new visiting assistant professors
    Recent Ph.D. graduate Caroline Turnage-Butterbaugh was an invited participant in the workshop "Exciting New Faces in Analytic Number Theory" at the Hausdorff Center for Mathematics in Bonn, July 2014
    Math graduate student Chris Schwanke has been awarded the 2013-2014 Graduate Instructor Excellence in Teaching Award. This is the Department of Mathematics’s second consecutive win of this honor. Caroline Turnage-Butterbaugh received the award for the 2012-2013 year
    • Sidebar Widget
    • Information