skip to main content
Department of Mathematics
University of Mississippi

Tenured and Tenure-track Faculty

bu

Qingying Bu
Professor
Ph.D., Kent State University, 2002
Functional Analysis
Hume 314 | 662-915-7065  |  qbu@olemiss.edu

Gerard Buskes, Ph.D.

Gerard Buskes
Professor
Ph.D., University of Nijmegen, 1983
Functional Analysis
Hume 105 | 662-915-7425  |  mmbuskes@olemiss.edu

Jeremy Clark

Jeremy Clark
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Davis, 2007
Probability Theory and Stochastic Processes, Mathematical Physics
Hume 306 | 662-915-7065 | jeremy@olemiss.edu

Xin Dang, Ph.D.

Xin Dang
Professor
Ph.D., University of Texas at Dallas, 2005
Statistics
Hume 315 | 662-915-7409  |  xdang@olemiss.edu

Ayla Gafni
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University, 2016
Analytic Number Theory, Harmonic Analysis
Hume 327 | 662-915-7422 |  argafni@olemiss.edu

Rizwanur Khan
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, 2007
Number Theory
Hume 320 | 662-915-7071 |  rrkhan@olemiss.edu

Saša Kocic, Ph.D.

Saša Kocić
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin, 2006
Dynamical Systems
Hume 312 | 662-915-7582  |  skocic@olemiss.edu

Thai Hoang Le

Thái Hoàng Lê
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 2010
Number Theory
Hume 337 | 662-915-1567 | leth@olemiss.edu

Samuel Lisi

Samuel Lisi
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Courant Institute (New York University), 2006
Symplectic topology, Hamiltonian dynamical systems
Hume 318 | 662-915-3889 | stlisi@olemiss.edu

Dr. Longla

Martial Longla
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Cincinnati, 2013
Statistics
Hume 308 | 662-915-7436 | mlongla@olemiss.edu

Dr. Milinovich

Micah B. Milinovich
Professor
Ph.D., University of Rochester, 2008
Analytic Number Theory
Hume 304 | 662-915-8872  |  mbmilino@olemiss.edu

Dr. Miña-Díaz

Erwin Miña Díaz
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University, 2006
Orthogonal Polynomials, Approximation Theory
Hume 317 | 662-915-1204  |  minadiaz@olemiss.edu

Dr. Dao Nguyen

Dao Nguyen
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, 2016
Statistics
Hume 322 | 662-915-6706  |  dxnguyen@olemiss.edu

Dr. Reid

Talmage James Reid
Professor and Chair
Ph.D., Louisiana State University, 1988
Matroid Theory
Hume 305 B | 662-915-7071  |  mmreid@olemiss.edu

Dr. Sang

Hailin Sang
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Connecticut, 2008
Statistics
Hume 325 | 662-915-7398  |  sang@olemiss.edu

Dr. Sheppardson

Laura Sheppardson
Associate Professor and Associate Chair
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology, 2003
Graph Theory
Hume 305 | 662-915-1463  |  sheppard@olemiss.edu

Sandra Spiroff
Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2003
Commutative Algebra
Hume 335 | 662-915-5646  |  spiroff@olemiss.edu

Dr. Bing Wei

Bing Wei
Professor and Graduate Program Coordinator
Ph.D., Technical University of Berlin, 1992
Graph Theory, Combinatorics
Hume 310 | 662-915-1250  |  bwei@olemiss.edu

Dr. Haidong Wu

Haidong Wu
Professor
Ph.D., Louisiana State University, 1994
Matroid Theory and Graph Theory
Hume 316 | 662-915-7416  |  hwu@olemiss.edu

Instructional Faculty

Julie Anderson

Julie Anderson
Senior Lecturer
M.S., University of Mississippi, 1992
Hume 209 | 662-915-1567 | jkjones@olemiss.edu

Michael Azlin

Michael Azlin
Lecturer
M.S., University of Mississippi, 2011
Hume 218 | 662-915-7071 | mwazlin@olemiss.edu

Erica Paige Gillentine

Erica Paige Gillentine
Instructional Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Mississippi, 2013
Jackson Center Q15 | 662-915-6621 | epgillen@olemiss.edu

Cody Harville
Instructor
M.S., University of Mississippi, 2010
Hume 226 | 662-915-7071 | cjharvil@olemiss.edu

Kayla Davis

Kayla Harville
Lecturer and Director of Freshman Mathematics
Ph.D., University of Mississippi, 2013
Hume 305 C | 662-915-7410 | kdharvil@olemiss.edu

Kelvin Holmes
Instructor
M.S., University of Mississippi, 2013
Hume 222 | 662-915-7071 | kmholmes@olemiss.edu

Robert Hunt

Robert Hunt
Senior Lecturer and Mathematics Lab Administrator
M.S., University of Mississippi, 2003
Jackson Center A04 | 662-915-2381 | rhunt@olemiss.edu

Virginia Newsom

Ginger Newsom
Lecturer
M.S., University of Mississippi, 1994
Hume 217 | 662-915-7071 | vhnewsom@olemiss.edu

Lanzhen Song

Lanzhen Song
Lecturer
Ph.D., University of Mississippi, 2009
Hume 204 | 662-915-8872 | lsong@olemiss.edu

Jon-Michael Wimberly

Jon-Michael Wimberly
Lecturer
M.S., University of Mississippi, 2011
Hume 205 | 662-915-7071 | jwimberl@olemiss.edu

Qin Zhang

Qin Zhang
Lecturer
Ph.D., Mechanical Engineering, University of Rochester, 2008
Hume 219 | 662-915-7071 | qzhang@olemiss.edu

Visiting Faculty

Sooyeon Lee

Sooyeon Lee
Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Mississippi, 2018
Combinatorics, Matroid Theory
Hume 329 | 662-915-7071 | slee27@go.olemiss.edu

Cong Zhou
Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Indiana University Bloomington, 2020
Free Probability and Random Matrix Theory
Hume 333 | czhou1@olemiss.edu

Emeriti Faculty

Donald Cole, Ph.D.

Donald Cole
Associate Professor Emeritus, former Assistant Provost and Assistant to the Chancellor for Multicultural Affairs
Ph.D., University of Mississippi, 1985
Partial Differential Equations
dcole@olemiss.edu

Iwo Labuda, Ph.D.

Iwo Labuda
Chair Emeritus and Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
Ph.D., Mathematical Institute of the Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw 1974; Habilitation, Warsaw, 1978
Functional Analysis and Topology
mmlabuda@olemiss.edu

Glenn Hopkins

Glenn Hopkins
Professor Emeritus, former Chair of Mathematics and Dean of the CLA
Ph.D., Purdue University, 1977
Graph Theory
ghopkins@olemiss.edu

Glenn Hopkins

William Staton
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Houston, 1978
Graph Theory and Combinatorics
mmstaton@olemiss.edu

Glenn Hopkins

Alan Paterson
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Edinburgh, 1969
Functional Analysis
mmap@olemiss.edu

Eldon Miller
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Alabama, 1966
Complex Analysis
emiller@olemiss.edu

Charles Alexander
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Kansas, 1968
Delta RSI Project
ccalex@olemiss.edu

X