skip to main content
Department of Mathematics
University of Mississippi

The Dalrymple Lecture

The Dalrymple Lecture Series in the University of Mississippi Department of Mathematics was endowed by Mr. and Mrs. Arch Dalrymple III of Amory, Mississippi. Arch Dalrymple attended Cornell University, Amherst College and UM, where he earned a bachelor’s degree in 1947.

The Dalrymple Lecture Series brings distinguished speakers to discuss mathematics and mathematics research. Lectures are aimed at the general audience—students and non-mathematicians are encouraged to attend.

The lecture series has brought several well-known mathematicians to the University. The following is a list of the Dalrymple Lecturers:

2023: Dr. Eugenia Cheng, Scientist in Residence, School of the Art Institute of Chicago (poster, abstract, photo 1, photo 2, photo 3, photo 4)
2019: Ken Ono, Ken Ono, University of Virginia and Emory University (poster, photo 1, photo 2, photo 3, photo 4, photo 5)
2018: Arthur Benjamin, Harvey Mudd College (poster, photo 1, photo 2, photo 3)
2015: Jerzy Weyman, University of Connecticut
2015: Brian Conrey, American Institute of Mathematics (photo 1, photo 2, photo 3)
2014: Nándor Simányi, University of Alabama at Birmingham
2012: Slawomir Solecki, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2010: James G. Oxley, Louisiana State University
2009: Michal Karonski, Emory University
2008: Andrew Odlyzko, University of Minnesota
2007: Tony DeRose, Pixar Animation Studios
2006: Keith Devlin, Stanford University
2002: Robin Thomas, Georgia Tech
2001: Douglas Hofstadter, Indiana University
2000: Raymond Smullyan
1996: Carl Pomerance, Dartmouth College
1995: Dominic Welsh, University of Oxford
1994: Paul R. Halmos, Santa Clara University
1993: Leonard Gillman
1992: R. Daniel Mauldin, University of North Texas
1991: Joseph Diestel, Kent State University
1990: Richard H. Schelp, University of Memphis
1989: Wilhelmus A.J. Luxemburg